PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new computer to connect?

Acorn556
02-17-2010, 11:02 AM
I have a laptop I've been using for 2 or 3 years now. Worked fine even after my ex threw it into a wall.....twice. Last place I lived it would connect MOST of the time but sometimes it threw a fit and I had to be right on top of the router to connect but then it was good to go.

NOW....I get a DNS from the one router my roommate has setup and the other is an unlocked Apple network. The problem is....sometimes it just disconnects or I have to connect to the DNS error router THEN the Apple routher. They are right next to each other and I get 5 bars from the one router and barley 2 from the Apple.

My question is will a new laptop fix this problem? I'm kind of irritated that I can't just sit in my room and surf the net before bed. I'm pretty sure my roommate isn't too happy with me leaving the laptop in the living room either.

choprzrul
02-17-2010, 11:05 AM
make sure those two routers are not on the same channel and don't both have the same SSID (wireless network name). Then give your wireless adaptor a static IP address, it always seems to help wireless stability.

Blackhawk556
02-18-2010, 8:12 PM
doesn't it cost extra to use a static ip?? i mean compared to a dynamic ip.

yes, make sure they aren't on the same channel or that may give you problems. also, make sure that you select "connect to preferred network" or something like that

lazyworm
02-18-2010, 8:39 PM
Not enough info to truly diagnose the problem.

I'd suggest...
1. make sure firmware is up to date on the laptop and both routers
2. since the laptop was thrown a couple times, make sure no components
inside is lose.
3. since you said the apple router is unlocked/open, make sure the apple router is not out of IP addresses

Acorn556
02-19-2010, 2:03 AM
how do I do all this? Not the best with computers.

PS3 has no problems connecting really...odd that it says 70% and it's right next to it as well.