PDA

View Full Version : Can we own Saiga shotguns here?

SVTNate
01-13-2006, 3:25 PM
I am new to shotguns, and long guns in general. I know that we don't have an "approved list" for long guns, but I was curious if the Saiga box-mag shotties are legal here, and I'd also like to know how I can determine what's legal for sale in CA and what isn't.

grammaton76
01-13-2006, 3:35 PM
Saiga's are listed specifically on the California assault weapons list.

http://caag.state.ca.us/firearms/

Charliegone
01-13-2006, 4:17 PM
Probably not or it would be very difficult to convince the doj and a ffl dealer otherwise.

socalguns
01-13-2006, 10:30 PM
The shotgun isn't on the list

housefull
01-18-2006, 1:41 PM
The shotgun isn't on the list
But the discription of a Saiga clearly falls into the "detachable/box magazine"
In other words, not legal here in Kalifornistan. :mad:

MrTuffPaws
01-18-2006, 2:50 PM
But the discription of a Saiga clearly falls into the "detachable/box magazine"
In other words, not legal here in Kalifornistan. :mad:

Actually, you can own a detachable mag shotgun, but it would have to be pump, lever, or bolt action

Er, just what DRH said.....

socalguns
01-19-2006, 12:11 AM
DRH already mentioned that.

paradox
01-19-2006, 2:48 PM
... for a mossberg with a Knoxx sidewinder kit on it for twice as much as the saiga.

socalguns
01-19-2006, 4:13 PM
Actually >8D the saiga-12 could easily be turned into a pump action (more like pull, but definetly not semi-auto)

Otony
01-19-2006, 6:29 PM
Lets simplify things, shall we?

NO

socalguns
01-19-2006, 11:12 PM
This are already simple. NO

Mesa Tactical
01-20-2006, 5:33 AM
... for a mossberg with a Knoxx sidewinder kit on it for twice as much as the saiga.

Or a Valtro PM-5. I have heard, however, the US distributor of the Valtro doesn't want to sell it to civilians. But I haven't actually called them to find out.

rssslvr
01-20-2006, 1:03 PM
they say on their web site that they sell them here and list a couple dealers