PDA

View Full Version : 10 days vacation on a Motorcycle, CA, NV, AZ....can I take my gun?

leesagi
01-13-2006, 2:25 PM
I'm planning a 10 days ride on my motorcycle, I'll be in CA, NV, and AZ. Can I take my handgun with me? (I am a CA resident), are there any special issues I should be aware of?

Thanks.

M14Gunman
01-13-2006, 2:40 PM
I'm planning a 10 days ride on my motorcycle, I'll be in CA, NV, and AZ. Can I take my handgun with me? (I am a CA resident), are there any special issues I should be aware of? Thanks.

Under California law, while transporting a handgun the handgun must be in a locked case, unconcealed and the ammunition must be kept in a seperate passenger compartment. This means you can put the gun in a locked saddle bag and have the magazines on you, or visa versa.

I did write the DOJ and it is legal to have a handgun in the open, in a holster provided it is not loaded and there is no county or city ordinance prohibiting it. They have you as soon as you get on the bike though.

grammaton76
01-13-2006, 3:13 PM
Under California law, while transporting a handgun the handgun must be in a locked case, unconcealed and the ammunition must be kept in a seperate passenger compartment. This means you can put the gun in a locked saddle bag and have the magazines on you, or visa versa.

Make sure the magazines are not loaded. CA considers a loaded magazine to be transporting a loaded weapon, even if the weapon itself is NOT along for the ride.

leesagi
01-13-2006, 3:31 PM
[QUOTE=I did write the DOJ and it is legal to have a handgun in the open, in a holster provided it is not loaded and there is no county or city ordinance prohibiting it. They have you as soon as you get on the bike though.[/QUOTE]

I know I can cary a gun on my bike if it follows the CA rules, the question is what if I ride from CA to NV or AZ?

Thanks.
Lee.

DrjonesUSA
01-13-2006, 3:36 PM