PDA

View Full Version : New bay area member

ByTheBay
02-07-2010, 8:53 PM
Hey I am new member here. I don't currently own any firearms because i have always been puzzled by all the laws in CA. I have had experience shooting with family while on vacation outside of the states. I would like to learn more and start going out to the range. I am hoping to build an AK sometime soon and finally start shooting again.

I work as a restoration mechanic on old Italian and other European cars, have access to alot of tools and a machine shop.

Any idea where to get started, and things to worry about (laws, regulations ect...)

Thanks

delisle
02-08-2010, 6:16 AM
A good place to get started is the frequently asked questions section here on this site. Also if you are going to buy a hand gun here in CA you need a Handgun Safety Certificate. You can get this at any gun shop. It costs about twenty bucks and the book they will give you to study is a good place to start.

Also if you want to know more about the AK build look in the Gunsmithing and How To section of this forum.

:sailor:

ByTheBay
02-08-2010, 10:59 AM
Thanks, I am not old enough for a handgun yet so I will have to stick to a rifle.

Steyrlp10
02-08-2010, 11:15 AM
Howdy - welcome aboard!

BigDogatPlay
02-08-2010, 11:34 AM
Welcome aboard.

Definitely look at the FAQ and the Calguns Wiki for answers to many questions. As to building an AK, if you are near to the North Bay, member woodey has hosted a couple of build parties at his place. He's a good guy, I know him, and you can always come and hang out to observe and ask questions. He's got a thread open proposing another coming up in March.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=263986

7222 Hawker
02-08-2010, 12:21 PM
Welcome kid. You can learn a whole lot here. Keep your ears open, use the search button and you will learn what it took me years of reading Guns n Ammo to learn. Nice to have you.

dellgsg5
02-08-2010, 12:27 PM