PDA

View Full Version : Cleanup in rifle/.223 discussions

treelogger
01-11-2006, 9:37 AM
I just posted the following in a thread in the .223 self-loading rifle subforum. I think this applies mostly to the rifle, gun rights, and .223 self-loading rifle subforums.

I'm seeing a heck of a lot of threads and posts that follow either of two lines: 1. I'm a complete newbie, I don't have the patience to read and absorb the existing stuff, please tell me quickly all I need to know to get lowers, and also keep it very simple, because I'm not comfortable with complicated concepts, and I don't want to hear about the twisted legal situation. 2. The evil government jack-booted thugs are out to get us, they will tickle all law-abiding gun owners until they are blue in their faces, they will confiscate our livers and spleens, the sky is falling.

These posts and thread are bad - they dilute they wonderful information and exchange of opinions that takes place, they make the discussion hard to search, and they create a fatalistic aura of impending doom, contributing to the paranoia that can prevent people from making rational decisions. The first kind of question is also dangerous: a person should not enter into owning these rifles with their complex legal status without a full understanding of the situation. Even though it might smell of censorship to some, I think it would be a good idea if the moderators/administrators cleaned away such things.

What do others think? Is it more important to have a tidy forum with good discussions and concentrated information? Or is it more important that all california gun lovers (including newbies and fools and paranoids) can ask questions and post their opinions, and leave a permanent record thereof?

GTKrockeTT
01-11-2006, 10:10 PM
amen, brother.

Rascal
01-11-2006, 10:21 PM
+1 on that.

Sgt Raven
01-11-2006, 10:23 PM
I vote clean 'em up, amen bother.

rssslvr
01-11-2006, 10:36 PM
please:) pretty please

blacklisted
01-12-2006, 12:28 AM