PDA

View Full Version : Form 4473 Question 12(e) and the Impact of Legalized (Decriminalized) Marijuana in CA

Blood Ocean
02-02-2010, 1:44 PM
So we all know that you answer yes to (a) and then no all the way to the bottom of Q12 (in most cases) but I'm wondering what could happen depending on the election in November. Q12(e) asks:

"Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance?"

So if the hippies get their way and put a ballot initiative for the complete decriminalization of Marijuana in the state of CA and get it passed what will be the impact for the gun-buying public?

I'm no expert but I don't think you can get addicted to Marijuana. If it's decriminalized then you're no longer an unlawful user of.

How will the Feds react to this? I envision this Brady Campaign response "You can't sell guns to people who are smoking weed legally." In the most draconian world (liberals in power) I could see them reaching for as close to a full ban of all gun sales in CA. Federally the marijuana is still felony-level illegal, and I don't see any anti-gun nuts missing this key part of the approval to purchase process and having something to say about it.

Yes I know I'm speculating about something that might not even happen (I sure hope they don't find any new sources of tax revenue) but I'm concerned of the ramifications if they do pass this garbage. I love buying guns, I don't want hippies to be getting high legally and not be able to defend myself from them. If you or someone you know/love is a hippie please get them help.

kf6tac
02-02-2010, 1:49 PM
Form 4473 is a federal form, and regardless of what happens with CA state law, marijuana is still an illegal drug under federal law. As far as federal firearms law is concerned, one would still be an "unlawful user of" marijuana and therefore prohibited from owning a firearm.

bigcalidave
02-02-2010, 1:51 PM