PDA

View Full Version : corrosive ammo?

SanPedroShooter
02-01-2010, 7:39 AM
any one have any advice about running corrosive fmj yugo 7.62x39 ammo besides dont do it.
i did some research, so im familiar with the basics of why its corrosive and how to clean it. i thought i would solicit some "expert" calguns advice.
its for a wasr 10 btw
thanks

brent

02-01-2010, 7:49 AM
I'm no expert, but there is no myth about corrosive ammo. You just have to clean your rifle after shooting, as soon as possible.

For your AK, make sure you also clean the gas system thoroughly.

SanPedroShooter
02-01-2010, 7:52 AM
thanks for the specific advice

technique
02-01-2010, 7:52 AM
I searched for you using the Calguns Google search...

Search turned up your thread 1st.
Then directly below it was this little gem:

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=234501

Exposed
02-01-2010, 7:59 AM
+1 on cleaning the gas system. I have shot corrosive ammo, taken it home, sprayed it with windex, let it sit for 24 hours, came back to check on it and it was just fine. No rust anywhere, however, when I removed my gas tube a couple days later, it had a bunch of surface rust. No harm done. I cleaned it off but learned that I need to spray the WHOLE thing down with windex after a range trip including the gas tube. Other than that, I love yugo surplus ammo, its cheap, non magnetic and more accurate than wolf IMO. Shoot it, have fun and clean your gun with windex or any other ammonia based cleaner as soon as you get back home from the range.

SanPedroShooter
02-01-2010, 8:09 AM
I searched for you using the Calguns Google search...

Search turned up your thread 1st.
Then directly below it was this little gem:

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=234501

thanks tech, that quite a cleaning job. im gonna have to practice using the search function... and buy a garden hose lol

Exposed
02-01-2010, 8:17 AM