PDA

View Full Version : Moly lube - revisited

Benellishooter
01-06-2006, 8:16 AM
Bill's moly lube thread took a tangent.

I spoke to Bushmaster about the use of moly lube on the buffer tube this morning. They said that they do not use it when they assemble rifles because they are concerned that the lube could cause the buffer tube to vibrate loose. They say they do recommend it for match triggers.

Bill, do you have any comments? I am rather new at this AR stuff and in the process of learning. I have their DVD. As you mentioned, it is not used on the DVD.

delloro
01-06-2006, 11:06 AM
1) you are asking a poster to improve upon a major manufacturer's advice?

2) Bill will just ask Bushy, see his pre-hijack post....

bwiese
01-06-2006, 11:35 AM
Hi, Dave....

I spoke to Bushmaster about the use of moly lube on the buffer tube this morning. They said that they do not use it when they assemble rifles because they are concerned that the lube could cause the buffer tube to vibrate loose. They say they do recommend it for match triggers.

Bill, do you have any comments? I am rather new at this AR stuff and in the process of learning. I have their DVD. As you mentioned, it is not used on the DVD.

I had their videotape made in late '90s. Same thing (starring Israel Anzaldua, their LEO/mil sales director now?) Nice guy, and he knows his ARs, but they really should have a scripted presenter doing it. Hollywood he'll never make :)

Other mfgrs use lube here. Bushy has its own opinions, apparently. When I took my Colt Sporter apart there was definitely some black goop there.

Given that Bushy doesn't coat/park/finish the barrel under the area where the front sight/gas block goes on, that's a bit of a departure too from 'milspec' - and definitely a cost-savings one. Fine for a range gun, and I even own several Bushy uppers. But that's something I don't like either.