PDA

View Full Version : Own NFA items out of state

Frijolito1988
01-22-2010, 8:02 AM
So I was just thinking about this today. Is there anyway possible me, as a CA resident. Own NFA stuff in another state eventhough im only a CA resident ? What i was thinking about is, are there any storage places in other states that allow the storage of NFA items. Persay a bonded storage place or warehouse that specializes in this. Would having an NFA trust , facilitate this ?

My way of thinking is, purchase what ever NFA thing, pay the tax stamp , and put that bonded storage place as the place where the stuff will be kept , and be legal ?

Only reason I think this may not be legal is because if it where....ALOT of people will be doing this and would be a well known option.

joe_sun
01-22-2010, 8:06 AM
Ken Lunde says he does it

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showpost.php?p=3430756&postcount=55

davescz
01-22-2010, 8:17 AM
whats NFA mean?

Elucidus
01-22-2010, 9:11 AM
National Firearms Act - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Firearms_Act

Basically items that require excise taxes to purchase - like silencers, automatic weapons, etc.

Librarian
01-22-2010, 9:52 AM
However, that won't work for NFA firearms.

Fedlaw requires that interstate purchases - which is what is contemplated here, a CA resident buying outside of CA - must follow the rules of the state of residence of the buyer.

See http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Transferring_firearms_Interstate

Frijolito1988
01-22-2010, 10:04 AM

Fedlaw requires that interstate purchases - which is what is contemplated here, a CA resident buying outside of CA - must follow the rules of the state of residence of the buyer.

See http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Transferring_firearms_Interstate