PDA

View Full Version : Dual residency and the DOJ roster, some questions

Needham
01-17-2010, 12:07 PM
Greetings,
I am a resident of two states, California and one on the east coast. I currently work and have a residence in California. I own a home and spend an appreciable amount of time (vacations and home repair trips) in the other state.

In the next year or two, I will be moving back east. In the mean time, may I purchase an off-roster gun in the other state and legally bring it into California?

When I moved here (to California) originally, I filled out the "New Resident Handgun Ownership Report," AB991 and paid my $19/gun. Could I purchase the pistol, bring it to California, send in another AB991 form, and be without worry?

Would it be prudent to send in the form before bringing the pistol into the state?

Thanks,
Bob

1 SIG fan
01-17-2010, 12:11 PM
Tagged to follow

SJgunguy24
01-17-2010, 12:44 PM
If you buy a gun legally out of state why wouldn't be able to bring it back? Rosterd or not your in the clear. Hell you could buy non rosterd gun and sell them here if you like, nothing illegal about that either.
You cannot bring any hi cap mags that are ready for use, you could bring them in as kits then assemble into 10 or less mags.

IrishPirate
01-17-2010, 12:49 PM
Just make sure the handgun doesn't have any of the AW pistol characteristics and your good to go. Otherwise, you'll be importing an illegal AW into the state. Check here (http://www.calguns.net/caawid/hgflowchart.pdf). Also, no hi-caps allowed in state unless you had them pre-ban. (word to the wise: it's hard to claim you had hi-caps for a gun that wasn't manufactured before the ban......)

Mssr. Eleganté
01-17-2010, 2:02 PM
When I moved here (to California) originally, I filled out the "New Resident Handgun Ownership Report," AB991 and paid my $19/gun. Could I purchase the pistol, bring it to California, send in another AB991 form, and be without worry?