PDA

View Full Version : Reload safety

OliveCookieMonsta
01-14-2010, 10:54 PM
Is it safe to use Reloads? I had an old friend who was adamant about not allowing others to use his reloads nor use others. So, when I started shooting more I purchase new mfg ammo all :Dthe time. Any thoughts?

WINGEDSWORD
01-15-2010, 4:55 PM
I am a long time reloader. I am very careful. But I would never shoot reloads
other than my own. A number of years ago, I bought some bagged reloads
at a range.(commercial reloads) 2 rounds of a bag of 50 failed to fire. One had no primer! I don't know why the second failed. The biggest danger in using reloads is an overcharge or compressed carge. Either one can damage a gun or injure the shooter.

OliveCookieMonsta
01-15-2010, 6:14 PM
What about factory reloads?

Steyrlp10
01-15-2010, 7:47 PM
In my previous life, I had two Dillons for .32s and .45s, but things have changed so much in the last 10 years that I haven't been following the details closely. Anyhow, I was shooting about six days a week, so having reloads was the most practical thing to do as far as cost and the amount of powder I wanted in my target loads.

For me, the accuracy was never a problem. I was lucky that I didn't have any problems during matches. I had friends, however, who had bullets stuck in their barrels because of mismatched loads.

I'm about to look into buying factory reloads in Santa Rosa next week. I'll keep you posted if I have any horror stories to share.

Best of luck to you.

AbbyCat
01-15-2010, 8:36 PM
I'm finding that using factory reloads is a crap shoot. Some have worked well for me, others have failed to fire. I've bought the reloads from a couple different places that have good reputations. So now, I'm not trusting reloads and only using new ammo.

CSACANNONEER
01-15-2010, 8:39 PM
Comercial reloads can be far better or far worse than the normal factory ammo. Like anything else, it depends on how well they are made.

diginit
01-31-2010, 6:15 PM