PDA

View Full Version : Moving firearms interstate by Household moving company

hunterkm77
01-12-2010, 11:23 AM
I work for regular transporting company and one of my customer ask us if we can transport his firearms to Vegas out of California with their Household goods.

As a gunowner myself, I thought this is good question. I know some people has room filled with firearms and when they try to move out of state they can move their own.

Does any one can help me if Third Party Moving company can transfer on behalf of the orignal gun owner?

Is there any legal problem?

Appreciate your help!!

GearHead
01-12-2010, 11:58 AM
I don't think the actual act of transportation is a problem as long as the guns are legal in Vegas (which shouldn't be an issue since NV has less restrictive gun laws that CA) since interstate movement of legal guns is perfectly fine . The issue you might run into is a contractor moving them rather than the actual owner.

Obviously, I am not a lawyer and if I was in the same situation, I would just load my truck with my guns in a locked container and do it myself. I am interested to see what others say.

Window_Seat
01-12-2010, 11:58 AM
It is a good question, one I haven't thought of... I wonder on that note as well vice versa with AB-962. As far as the moving company, I'm sure that the reputable ones have their ducks and eyes with better than 20/20 on that issue, and they would be able to give you the straight shot (pun intended).

Erik.

SJgunguy24
01-12-2010, 12:08 PM
This has been asked before, IIRC most moving contractors won't touch firearms for interstate moves. I wouldn't just because of states like California where a company could be illegally importing AW per state law. Now leaving California is different, I would still like to be in control of my own firearms.