PDA

View Full Version : Springfield 1911A-1 GI

SIGman Freud
01-04-2010, 8:45 PM
I am really interested in this 1911 pistol at my local gun shop. They're asking for $560.00 before taxes, DROS, etc. What do you think--should I go for it? Is that a good price? I'm very new to 1911. I liked the feel and weight to it, and the idea of .45 acp adds more relief in the purpose of home defense. But, I also liked the vintage look and historical background (I am well aware that these are new guns, but made in the classic WWI and WWII-eras.

They had it in the parkerized version. Are there advantages in getting the blued or stainless steel finish? If so, why?

Black Majik
01-04-2010, 9:05 PM
$560 is a fair price for a SA GI at a B&M shop. However, it really didn't seem all that long ago when I remember seeing the SA GI for RIA GI prices. My how prices risen.

If you're looking for something similar to a WWII 1911, the GI is one of the closer CA rostered 1911s. However, for shooting, I would look into the Milspec, those larger sights make a big difference.

picasso
01-04-2010, 9:17 PM
Retting has the same model for $539 b/4 dros and such, but i think your price is within the range. I'm also actually in the market for a 1911 (entry level) and leaning towards the SA mil spec or the PARA gi.

Finish-wise, i like blued personally, but parkerize age well. I like stainless in a revolver.

sholling
01-04-2010, 9:18 PM
If I were you I would spend the extra $100 for a Springfield Armory Mil-Spec. The sights on the GI are GI awful and the Mil-Spec adds several other upgrades you'll want like a beveled magazine well.

The main advantage to buying stainless over parkerized is ease of matching upgrades later. You can find blued or stainless thumb safeties, grip safeties etc all over the place but that can't be said for parkerized parts.

sorensen440
01-04-2010, 9:19 PM
Unless budget is really an issue I would spend the extra hundred for the milspec