PDA

View Full Version : What if a Family Member Tells You...

halifax
12-31-2009, 2:56 AM
NOT to sell a gun to his mother? The woman is 70 years old and not prohibited but her son saw her car at my shop and called me. She lives alone and has taken/passed the CCW course with a borrowed gun. Her son is afraid she is becoming paranoid and shouldn't have a gun in the house. She seemed OK to me but I'm not a doctor.

Corbin Dallas
12-31-2009, 8:29 AM
In my experience, stay out of family matters. If the son does not want the mother to have a firearm, it's not your duty to enforce it.

Tell the son that he needs to talk with his mother, not you.

Chris M
12-31-2009, 8:37 AM
If I were in your shoes, I wouldn't sell her the gun, simply because I'm the type of person that will try to keep the peace. If you need the money, try to sell your gun here on Calguns.

If she wants to buy a gun, she's going to buy a gun. I don't think she's going to care if it comes from you, a gun shop, or any other legal means. Maybe recommend a few places that she can purchase one.

HUTCH 7.62
12-31-2009, 8:40 AM
In my experience, stay out of family matters. If the son does not want the mother to have a firearm, it's not your duty to enforce it.

^this

Sell the gun to her anyway, after all she passed the CCW can't be anymore of a looney then us calgunners.

halifax
12-31-2009, 11:03 AM

This is my inclination. Unfortunately, her son is a good customer of mine. I'm going to talk with him again and see if he can remove me from the middle of this. Damn, I wish he hadn't put me there in the first place. :(

Sig-Bob
12-31-2009, 11:30 AM
I would stay FAR FAR away from this!

Steyrlp10
12-31-2009, 11:34 AM
Boy is this a sticky situation -- and you have my empathy. In my line of work, we have similar issues with driving. Some people, regardless of their chronological ages, should not be behind the wheel. They're fighting with their kids and you know, it may be a disaster waiting to happen.