PDA

View Full Version : Boot Camp


OHOD
12-30-2009, 3:39 PM
I just finished installing Windows 7 on my Macbook Pro using Boot Camp.

So far, so good.
Currently loading Norton Anti-Virus and Microsoft Office.

I needed Windows so I could run specific software for my PhD program.
NVIVO
Bold

None of these will work on a Mac, hence Boot Camping.
I was going to use Parallels or Fusion but thought that I would have a better operating system if I stayed out of the virtual environment while running statistical software.
At least that is what I think.

I'll keep you updated, that is if anyone wants to know.

ocabj
12-30-2009, 4:15 PM
Just curious, but what software are you running?

Our department handles systems administration for the Statistics Graduate Department and we've been dealing with platform issues recently, but mainly due to having to ditch Solaris x86 and move to Linux due to no Matlab porting to Solaris x86.

OHOD
12-30-2009, 5:28 PM
Just curious, but what software are you running?

Our department handles systems administration for the Statistics Graduate Department and we've been dealing with platform issues recently, but mainly due to having to ditch Solaris x86 and move to Linux due to no Matlab porting to Solaris x86.

The software I plan to use is called NVivo8.
It can be found at:
http://www.qsrinternational.com/products_nvivo.aspx

NaughtyMonkey
12-30-2009, 11:42 PM
Why are you using Norton? Uhhg! lol.

domokun
12-31-2009, 12:04 AM
You can use Parallels or VMWare Fusion to boot your Boot Camp partition as a VM if you have both Boot Camp + Parallels/VMWare Fusion installed.

OHOD
12-31-2009, 7:48 AM
Why are you using Norton? Uhhg! lol.

I know, Uhhg, I agree.

Do you have other recommendations?
I was going to buy Kapernsky, but, the price was out of my budget.


I have been using rebooting and working with Windows and OSX for a couple of hours yesterday. Loaded Office, various plug-ins and etc...
So far, my machine is working well.

You could say I now have an UberWindOXS computer:p

OHOD
12-31-2009, 7:49 AM
You can use Parallels or VMWare Fusion to boot your Boot Camp partition as a VM if you have both Boot Camp + Parallels/VMWare Fusion installed.

I was reading about doing that online.

Now that I have partitioned, am I unable to do this?
I essentially could run Windows at the same time as OSX. Right?

ocabj
12-31-2009, 9:56 AM
I was reading about doing that online.

Now that I have partitioned, am I unable to do this?
I essentially could run Windows at the same time as OSX. Right?

No, you can still do this. When you install Parallels, it should see your Boot Camp partition and allow you to launch a virtual instance using the Boot Camp partition. It works fine.

high_lander
12-31-2009, 10:54 AM
Unless you have a really beefed up MBP, I wouldn't uses parallels or VM Ware to boot the BC partition. It takes up a LOT of resources. I ditched my Parallels and VM ware due to the performance hit. Boot camp gives you all the resources of the laptop(Core2Duo CPU), plus you can run in x64 to get all the RAM.

However, that's just me.

I am running on the unibody, 2.53, which model do you have?

OHOD
12-31-2009, 12:19 PM
Unless you have a really beefed up MBP, I wouldn't uses parallels or VM Ware to boot the BC partition. It takes up a LOT of resources. I ditched my Parallels and VM ware due to the performance hit. Boot camp gives you all the resources of the laptop(Core2Duo CPU), plus you can run in x64 to get all the RAM.

However, that's just me.

I am running on the unibody, 2.53, which model do you have?

And this is one of the reasons I went with Boot Camp. When I boot Windows, I expect to stay in Windows and not have a need to go back and forth.
I have a Core2Duo CPU as well and would expect performance to drop as soon as multiple programs begin running.

So far, I am very happy with a dual operating system.
Everything is working fine.

NaughtyMonkey
12-31-2009, 12:39 PM
Get AVG Free I believe 9.5 is out. Its the best anti Virus I have ever used and its Free, forever! Gets updates and everything, I can give you a full list of all the programs I use. Maybe I should make a new thread about this.