PDA

View Full Version : New Bluray, aspect ratio not so good.

blackbok
12-26-2009, 6:36 PM
So I just got a Samsung BD1600 Bluray for Christmas. Awesome. Also got Band of Brothers on Bluray. awesome again. Bummer is right now I have a standard (non HD non flat screen, non super cool) TV. I hooked it all up this morning, and after setting it up, started the disk. The picture was squashed (see: no black bars top and bottom). I went back in the video setup menu, and changed the aspect to play as standard (not 16:9). Still squashed. I tried every aspect ratio and it wouldn't change. I put in a DVD, and it was letterboxed. Is Band of Brothers non- letterboxed on standard TV's? Obviously I am new to this upscale park avenue movie watchin', so I'm out of my element. I know I really need a nice 42" LCD, but not in the cards for now. I'd still like to enjoy Band of Brothers as it should be on my TV.

Also, I noticed this BR player can stream netflix and pandora, but I need to buy a Wireless USB Adaptor. Anyone have experience with this? I don't want to drop $75 on something that isn't what I think it's gonna be.

Thanks!

TonyM
12-27-2009, 9:59 AM
Is Band of Brothers non- letterboxed on standard TV's?

I'm going to mostly ignore everything else, as you already know you really need a new TV to get the right image from the BD player..

On to the question I quoted: Take a look at the package for the discs, it should tell you the aspect ratio of the content. Amazon claims it is 1.78:1, so that should completely fill a widescreen TV without any black borders. I've never tried to play a BD disc on an SD display, and it's probably not a very supported use case. Since the SD DVD works, it may be how the player operates when you try to play HD content out to an SD display... Sorry I can't be of more help, but you might want to try calling the manufacturer of the player tomorrow to find out for sure if that's a supported configuration.

6172crew
12-27-2009, 11:48 AM