PDA

View Full Version : Primers

Carpenter 409
12-26-2009, 12:57 PM
I need your input people, Rifle primers both large and small. What do you like and why?
I'm new to reloading and am hearing don't use this and don't use that so I put it to you what do you like?

Thanks Again
Mark

joelogic
12-26-2009, 1:39 PM
Welcome to Calguns, but +1 on RTFM and only post one thread per forum

Linus
12-26-2009, 1:46 PM
LR & SR primers are used in different applications. A centerfire case will either be one or the other, you don't choose between the two.

Jonathan Doe
12-26-2009, 1:56 PM
I just tested my 308 Win at the Angeles Range today. I reloaded using Wolf large rifle primers, and I love the performance of the primers. It is neck to neck with Federal match primers giving me somewhere around 1/2 minute accuracy at 100 yards.

vta
12-26-2009, 2:22 PM
i use what i can get my hands on. i am not picky so as long as it ignites, i am happy. CCI, Wolf seem to be what I've been able to find lately. you precision rifle guys on the other hand will sure have favorites.

anothergunnut
12-26-2009, 2:54 PM
Get a reloading book and read it carefully. It will include data sections that tell you the appropriate type of primer for each cartridge you are interested in. There is a lot of basic information that you need to know before you start reloading. You only save money reloading if you don't blow up a gun and take your hand and face with it.

If you want to know what people's favorite brand is, that is a different question. I have been happily using Wolf primers for a while as they are cheap and they always go bang. If I don't get good groups it is my fault, not the primer's.

22popnsplat
12-26-2009, 3:17 PM
If i read his question correctly he is has applications for large and small primers .