PDA

View Full Version : Out of state resident going to college in CA

GearHead
12-24-2009, 10:45 PM
Hey CalGuns-

I think I have an answer to this already, but I have a quick question about something rather unique. A search regrettably turned up very little.

I am a CO resident. That is where I was born, where my truck is registered, where my DL is from, where I vote and where I call home. I am currently a junior at a University in the Bay Area. I have had my rifle here for a decent amount of time and did not think anything of it, since CA has no registration on longguns.

However, if I were to bring a handgun into CA (with legal mags of course), would I need to register it? From the searching I conducted, it appears you are only considered a handgun importer if you are planning on becoming a CA resident. I also saw something else that said regardless of your intent, you had to register the handgun with the DOJ within 60 days.

I am a full-time student, if that makes a difference, and I go back home to CO a few times a quarter. I could pretty easily make sure there were no >59 day periods when the gun was continuously in CA.

I ask because I do not want to bring my shiny new Beretta 92FS back to CA with me and run the risk of an overzealous LEO confiscating it because the serial number isn't registered to anything (no registration of any kind legally allowed in CO). Thanks in advance, this site rocks! :D

cntrolsguy
12-24-2009, 11:03 PM
NOt 100% sure but I believe that you are suppose to register as a resident if you reside here for a certain amount of time which will also require you to register your handguns if you brought them with you.
Hopefully someone here can confirm this or call it fud.

GearHead
12-24-2009, 11:07 PM
NOt 100% sure but I believe that you are suppose to register as a resident if you reside here for a certain amount of time which will also require you to register your handguns if you brought them with you.