PDA

View Full Version : Legal to leave FFL's presence with complete lower--but also sans mag lock?

froopah_loop
12-22-2009, 1:59 PM
I am new to the concept of OLL's and the surrounding intricacies. So I have a question that probably falls into "beginner category."

The scenario is assuming that an otherwise complete rifle with feature(s) is purchased out-of-state and shipped into CA in compliant condition.(Upper/lower separated and sent to an FFL in CA whom is not in possession of an AW permit.......)

Since a complete lower is not a rifle due to being separated from the upper, would it be legal to walk out of an FFL--of course, after DROS/10 day wait--with said complete lower minus mag lock?

Assuming the above hypothetical scenario is a possible one, I realize beyond that, obviously, there are not likely many FFL's with the necessary level of understanding of the Penal Code to agree to something like this.

So, if it were legal then there is still the issue of finding an FFL well versed in PC, I understand.

Then again, I do not have a strong grasp of the laws regarding the liability of such a proposition. I am assuming/have the impression that the only liability a receiving FFL is under would be:

1. Accepting a firearm in compliant condition. In this case, with the upper and lower separated.

And 2. Sending it away with the buyer also in compliant condition.

So in other words, I am also under the impression that the only issues that arise with liability is with what said buyer does once leaving the FFL's presence... Liability at that point rests solely on the buyer, not the FFL. In this case, the buyer could potentially commit a felony by "constructing" an AW by reassembling the upper/lower

But again I'm ignorant and am only assuming this is all possible/legal.