PDA

View Full Version : registered AW surrender

Desert Cowboy
12-21-2009, 2:46 PM
Ok this one could be a little difficult.
An acquaintance of mine lost his father earlier this year, February. The Father has an AW registered, with paperwork but he was the only one on the registration. Now the son( under pressure from mom) wants to surrender the gun but was hoping he could surrender just the lower and keep the upper for a legal build.
Also could he surrender the lower in one of those gun by backs and get maybe $200.00 for the AW turnin.
I don't know how to advise him as I am not a lawyer and not familiar with this situation.

thanks for all your help.

bigcalidave
12-21-2009, 2:49 PM
Take every part off that lower and only turn in the stripped part. Try it at a buyback but be careful, transport of an AW is a crime. There is no paperwork at the buyback though, you may be better off having a trail and a receipt showing it was surrendered for destruction.

Oh yeah, have a lawyer do it.

bigcalidave
12-21-2009, 2:50 PM
Best part is he only needs an OLL and a bullet button to have the rifle working again. Less than $100 !

ke6guj
12-21-2009, 2:54 PM
this is what the PC has to say about it,