PDA

View Full Version : New twist on the non-listed AR lowers...

Stanze
12-01-2005, 9:08 AM
If you can get a DOJ letter acknowleding that the non-listed lower is technically CA legal provided you don't violate SB-23. And, a CA-FFL to transer it to you w/ said letter.

I wonder if building it with detachable mag fully functional would be alright provided it didn't have a flash hider, collaspable stock, pistol grip, forward 'tact' grip?

I.E. THIS:

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/6684/atf20gripcutoutrgbweb2018yp.jpg
(except with a fixed stock)

I'm not a lawyer, but I don't see any holes in this other than the royal pain it would take to get the DOJ to send you a letter.

Thoughts?

saki302
12-01-2005, 9:32 AM
I'd like to see it approved with NO pistol grip at all first (remove it, or saw it off at an angle). That would be a first step in the right direction. That grip is still too 'iffy' for a first test- heck, I could grip it in a way tht puts my hand web below the trigger top if I wanted to.

Dave

bwiese
12-01-2005, 9:35 AM
I'm leery of this. I'll have to check the definition of pistol grip...

Right now, I believe we folks looking into this are gonna keep our unlisted lowers in one of these forms:
bare lower receiver - no mag, no pistol grip;

rifle/receiver with fixed 10rd mag AND pistol grip;

The goal is less a usable lower than possibility of declaration as AR series member; you can always get a FAB10.

Stanze
12-01-2005, 9:45 AM
http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/regs/pistolgrip.htm

I just want to do what's legal.

EDIT: That SKS in the link is not a detachable mag, the wording is confusing to CA legal SKS owners.:rolleyes:

C.G.
12-01-2005, 9:50 AM
I'm leery of this. I'll have to check the definition of pistol grip...

Right now, I believe we folks looking into this are gonna keep our unlisted lowers in one of these forms:

bare lower receiver - no mag, no pistol grip;
rifle/receiver with fixed 10rd mag AND pistol grip;