PDA

View Full Version : theoretical 90-day registration period of lower is added

ohsmily
11-29-2005, 8:23 PM
I understand that some people are hoping that by bringing a stripped non-list AR lower into CA and pinning the mag, the DOJ might, at some point, add that brand of lower to the list and allow the current owners with in the state to register the lower as a a full on "assault weapon."

I fully understand the theory and the legality of bringing a stripped non-list AR in.

HOWEVER, my question is, where in HARROTT v. COUNTY OF KINGS does it address this registration period everyone is hoping for. I browsed the entire case (I am a law student with access to westlaw), including the infuriating dissenting opinion (gun-grabber), and I didn't see anything about allowing a 90 day registration period. I read something about a 90 day period, but it seemed more like a period for the CA AG to add the model to the list and inform the public and dealers about it.

If someone would like, I can post the entire opinion off of WestLaw for people to read and decide for themselves.

I am also going to re-read it and take a closer look at this issue.

-Adam

ohsmily
11-29-2005, 8:33 PM
I don't see anything in the following about registration or "grandfathering" for those who already possess the lowers and allowing them to make them assault weapons. Basically, what it seems you would end up with, is the equivalent of a FAB-10 or Vulcan (but with your own pinned magazine style lower). They might grandfather in your lower as configured in its present condition (with pinned mag), but beyond that, people are just hoping against hope.