PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Nevada, should I leave hi-cap magazines here?

tahoetime
12-14-2009, 8:08 PM
As I posted in another thread, I just moved my residence to Nevada. But I still have some of my firearms here in California, including my grandfathered high capacity magazines. Since I might move back here someday, and want to do competitions in California in the meantime, would it make sense to leave my grandfathered magazines in California? Also, I am thinking of leaving some firearms here with relatives, if that is legal.

This would allow me to come into California and use the high-cap magazines and firearms even though I am a Nevada resident.

If I move back to California in the future, assuming the law doesn't change, I believe that I would then be able to move back here and still be able to have the high capacity magazines as if I had always lived in California. Furthermore, if the laws become more restrictive, hopefully the firearms would be grandfathered in as well.

Does this make legal sense? I know that it might not make financial sense!

elrcastor
12-14-2009, 8:10 PM
As long as you had then in CA before 1/1/00, you can come and go with the mags as many times as you wish.

bwiese
12-14-2009, 8:17 PM
ElrCastor above is, as customary, correct.

As long as you possessed the hicap mags in CA - even for a microsecond - you're OK. You can move away and reenter CA with these particular hicap mags as often as you'd like.

Neither original residency, current residency nor continued residency is required. The only requirement is that *you* had the hicap mags *in California* on or before 12/31/1999.

zum
12-14-2009, 8:45 PM
wow! wait a sec!

my father has hi cap mags from when he use to own a colt ar-15 (1996) can i use them in my new ar-15 legally?

and if so how do i go about proving they are grandfathered down? do i have to show a sales receipt from pre-ban?