PDA

View Full Version : Carrying in the woods.

Steelhead
11-22-2005, 12:30 PM
Concerning carrying in the wilderness. What is the law for carrying a firearm/handgun in the wilderness? I go on hikes, mostly to fishing remote areas, and would like to bring along a little security myself. I know some areas specifically prohibit firearms, but what about those with no signage? This wouldn’t require a CCW would it?
I'm a newbie so I am clueless here. :confused:
Thanks!
-Glen

M1A Rifleman
11-22-2005, 3:43 PM
Per the handgun safety handbook from the DOJ - no problem when hunting or fishing - assuming you are hunting and fishing in a legal area etc. Carrying either conceled or open carry when hiking seems to be more vague. Strictly observing this manual, concealed when hiking would seem to be a no, and open carry with a load handgun seems dependent on it be a public place or not, the the County, population etc.

I hope someone else can clear this up for my benefit also.

C.G.
11-22-2005, 4:05 PM
Per the handgun safety handbook from the DOJ - no problem when hunting or fishing - assuming you are hunting and fishing in a legal area etc. Carrying either conceled or open carry when hiking seems to be more vague. Strictly observing this manual, concealed when hiking would seem to be a no, and open carry with a load handgun seems dependent on it be a public place or not, the the County, population etc.

I hope someone else can clear this up for my benefit also.

Cannot carry concealed unless you have a CCW.

M1A Rifleman
11-22-2005, 4:13 PM
Cannot carry concealed unless you have a CCW.
That's not what the DOJ handbook says - check their website. When Hunting and fishing its OK.

C.G.
11-22-2005, 6:54 PM
Thats not what the DOJ handbook says - cjeck their website. when Hunting and fishing its OK.

I was a little quick on the trigger; you are right, unless prohibited.

MrTuffPaws
11-22-2005, 7:17 PM