PDA

View Full Version : Which Rail System for a Stag 2H?

Slotcar
12-05-2009, 12:29 PM
I am trying to decide on a rail system for my new purchase. I am new to this world and there is a TON to learn. I am looking to replace the stock hand gaurds with a "rail" type system. There seems to be a bunch of them and some say "drop in" and some say "armorer install". What is the most common (and hopefully affordable) way to add this feature to my Stag 2H upper?

BTW - This site is AWESOME!!!

be1498
12-05-2009, 12:43 PM
What would you consider "affordable?" There are quite a few offerings out there, and most have a very loyal following.

I went for the Daniel Defense Omega 9.0 rail for my BCM middy. Install was quick and painless, but the price was a little high at $275. It is, however, a quality product from a reputable company.

run8
12-05-2009, 12:45 PM
I added a Troy 7" carbine drop in to my Stag, it's as simple as they say, just four screws after you drop it in and that's it.

http://www.railsaroundthebay.net/firearms/IMG_1524.jpg

http://www.railsaroundthebay.net/firearms/IMG_1523.jpg

Slotcar
12-05-2009, 12:55 PM
I really like the Troy "look". How functional it? I see a bunch of these with no attachments. How will they keep optics on line? I was also wondering if there is any input on the Knights?

THT
12-05-2009, 12:59 PM
Both KAC and Troy make excellent rails. As previously mentioned, Daniel Defense is a top manufacturer of rails as well. Midwest Industries makes good rails as well as YHM and both are much less expensive.

Slotcar
12-05-2009, 1:05 PM
I have sorta realized that Knights, Troy, Daniel Defense and even Midwest all are kinda the front runners. I guess what I am looking for is which of these is "the" fit for a Stag 2H? It seems to be narrowed down to the "drop ins"...I assume. But which, IF ANY, will (or should) have optics attached? Or is this just a really cool looking feature that should only support lights and blinkers?

THT
12-05-2009, 1:16 PM