PDA

View Full Version : SKS builders

dark_ninja
12-03-2009, 6:42 PM
Hey guys! I am new here and this would be my first post. I've been looking through all the postings,threads,etc. and have not come across a significant mention on SKS rifles. Forgive if I am wrong,I am a newbie! Anyhow, I wanted to dedicate this thread to any one who has or is building an SKS rifle,that is pretty much upgrading it from stock. Any and all are welcomed. Opinions and criticisms as well.

The SKS was my first rifle I bought as soon as I turned 18. Great rifle! Always fun to shoot. So it would be natural to upgrade her before any others. I've added a black Tapco SKS compliance kit with bottom rail,fixed 10 rd mag,Intrafuse vertical grip,Tapco gas tube with pictanny rail and red/green dot holographic sight.

I might've messed up the gas tube by filing it down to much to ensure a proper fit. I have yet to fire it.

run8
12-03-2009, 6:59 PM
Looks good, I'm working on one but a Russian SKS, having issues getting that gas tube part in, so you have to file it?

dark_ninja
12-03-2009, 8:33 PM
Thanks! Yeah,but like I mentioned I might have filed too much. Best bet take it to a gunsmith who can do it for you... I might have to buy another and have a gunsmith do it. Do you have pics?

professorhard
12-03-2009, 8:37 PM
Looks good man, but that's called bubba-ing. Building is when you assemble a rifle from parts, preferably on a receiver you made yourself.

Rob454
12-03-2009, 8:42 PM
I think SKS rifles are great in stock form. it took me a while to realize it.
I dont think thereis much you can do to a SKS besides swapping US parts in it.
Other than that just shoot it and have fun. Jsut be realistic at what you expect out of the rifle. A long range sniper rifle it will never be.

bolantej
12-03-2009, 8:53 PM
nice work, but I too enjoy the look and feel of the original stock.

SJgunguy24
12-03-2009, 8:53 PM