PDA

View Full Version : New to AK building

Thrasher416
12-03-2009, 3:06 PM
I've been itching to build an ak for a long time and now I have the money. I have no experience building from parts kits but I've read up as much as I could about it on past threads here and akfiles. I'm planning on putting together a Romy G kit as a featureless build but I need some questions answered.

1. Whats the best way to finish the metal parts? Blueing or Duracoat, etc? I'd like to have the classic Ak blueing but if its too much trouble I'd settle for paint.

2. Is it better to finish the metal before or after the rifle's put together?

3. Are pre-1980 Romy G kits superior to the ones manufactured later?

4. Since I've never built a rifle before would a bending a flat be too much trouble? Would buying a NDS receiver make things a lot easier?

69Mach1
12-03-2009, 3:50 PM
Romanians are parkerized, not blued. You can if you want to. The finish is applied after the build is done. Romy G kits should be in better shape. If it's your first build, an NDS3 or NDS1 is recommended. Go to a build party. Lots of experienced builders can help you. Bending a flat may take up most of your day.

L.A. Brigade
12-03-2009, 4:01 PM
NDS3 $55 shipped.

http://www.nodakspud.com/page2.htm

wash
12-03-2009, 4:07 PM
Gold plate, you know you want it.

Thrasher416
12-04-2009, 5:19 PM
Thanks for the quick replies.

Wash, I agree with you 100%.:D Unfortunately, my wallet doesn't. :(

grammaton76
12-04-2009, 5:25 PM
NDS receiver is absolutely a no-brainer. UNLESS you're actually going to FULLY heat-treat the receiver, not just the spot treatment some guys like to try and get away with. And even then, you should probably just go NDS unless you really know what you're doing.

With the price of parts kits now, a $55 NDS isn't very expensive, and sure as heck beats putting wear and tear on a parts kit (potentially) stripping down a screwed-up flat build and reinstalling.