PDA

View Full Version : Free float....Back to plastic handguards?....

FUSE
11-30-2009, 10:28 PM
So I purchased the Stag upper a long time ago with the factory installed Samson quad rail... Thing is, I'm getting tired of it... My biggest issue with it is.... Weight, I want to go lighter... I have a lot of empty rail space weighing in that could dissappear if I ran a different setup...

The only thing I really care about attaching to the rifle is a flashlight which can be accomplished by a FSP rail attachment or plastic handguards with rails..

I'm not exactly sure how to convert back to the setup with Plastic Handguards. I currently removed the Samson rail and just see a lonely Barrel Nut.. I know I will need these parts...
http://www.packrat-toyz.com/images/Leapers/tl-brnut-m.jpg

What else will I need?
Parts? Tools?
Can someone point me to some instructions?
I have never done this before. Is this going to be hard, or easy?
(See what happens you always purchase a complete upper assembly)

I'm also debating if this is going to be pretty involved to trying out a different free float handguard... Although I haven't found any that I'm really crazy about, and not every FFH has it's weight listed.. I know the Samson rail I have is 10.5 oz... I just don't really see myself spending a couple of hundred dollars to go down 2oz to the Daniel Defense 8.5 oz........Any thoughts? Suggestions?

ar15barrels
11-30-2009, 10:57 PM
Re-profile the barrel.
That will save you about a pound.

In order to go back to plastic handguards, you have to remove the samson handguard and gas tube from the upper, remove the barrel from the receiver (barrel nut wrench and a receiver block mounted in a bench vise), install the delta ring, spring and snap ring.
Then re-install the barrel on the receiver, re-install the gas tube and snap the plastic handguards into place.

FUSE
11-30-2009, 11:21 PM
Thanks for the response, after reading your post and poking around here