PDA

View Full Version : wireless access point


rjf
11-19-2009, 12:49 PM
I think I want a wireless access point for home use. I already have DSL, a router, switch (2), print server, and some rooms wired. Access point just plugs into the ethernet and magic happens right?

What brand/options do I want for home use with two or three laptops. Computers are turned off when not used. I may turn the access point off also.

I don't need all bells and whistles, just need to prevent unauthorized access.

Will use for running Pandora radio, and video from another computer to the TV.

MR2Chuck
11-19-2009, 2:03 PM
Quick answer: yes, you can add a WAP (wireless access point) device to an ethernet port.

Longer answer: Most wireless Routers (WIFi router) include several ethernet ports as well as being a WAP, so you replace two device and, in reality, wirless routers are typically the same price or cheaper, than purely WAPs. You can go one step further in eliminating devices and wires: Most companies make a WiFi router with built in DSL modem. eg http://www.subaru.com/vehicles/impreza/outback-sport/index.html

With WiFi, go for the Wireless-N configuration if range is a consideration.
AND...Configure the WAP security!!

Most devices are straight forward to set up if you already have your DSL running OK.

-cheers

JDay
11-19-2009, 2:11 PM
You can go one step further in eliminating devices and wires: Most companies make a WiFi router with built in DSL modem. eg http://www.subaru.com/vehicles/impreza/outback-sport/index.html

And they typically suck. Just go get a Linksys or Buffalo wireless router.

paul0660
11-19-2009, 2:29 PM
Just got a Netgear from newegg. Replaced a wired D-link. $15 bucks, 4 lan ports, wireless works at least 100 feet away, password setup was easy, pretty much plug and play.

chiefcrash
11-19-2009, 2:41 PM
Linksys WRT54GL + DD-WRT = WIN

sonico
11-19-2009, 3:10 PM
DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.

sonico
11-19-2009, 3:11 PM
about security: WPA2 TKIP with a strong passphrase if your devices support it, otherwise WPA TKIP.

JDay
11-19-2009, 3:16 PM
DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.

Providers still use PPPoE?

sonico
11-19-2009, 5:09 PM
Yep, every single ATT DSL I've worked on is PPPOE, e-mail address and password logins.

The PPPOE info is either set in the modem (newer modems) or much more commonly in the router (older modems) or in either.

CSDGuy
11-19-2009, 5:26 PM
Linksys WRT54GL + DD-WRT = WIN
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...

JDay
11-19-2009, 5:52 PM
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...

Its hard to brick the router, all you do is upload the new firmware. And even if you brick one it takes a minute to unbrick.

Gregchico
11-19-2009, 6:09 PM
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...


It is cheaper to get one "preflashed" on Fleebay. Just search "dd-wrt". The router around here was $60-70 by itself, I ordered one from Fleebay for $50 delivered.
It really is better. My wifi enabled cellphone would crash my netgear and my dlink. My new DD-WRT Linksys has worked flawlessly from day one.

CSDGuy
11-19-2009, 6:15 PM
I've read of a few bricked routers that needed a bit of surgery to revive them... that takes a little longer than 1 min... However, if you have the right firmware for the router... the upgrade goes VERY smoothly. I'm not that router savvy... but I got mine up and running pretty quickly on the DD-WRT firmware. My router never did get bricked, but I've had to reset it and redo the firmware upload once or twice. ;)

Mostly, I'm just advocating some caution. If the wiki says that the router is compatible and you follow the directions... it all should go just fine.

For the OP: do a search for the router model you're looking at and "DD-WRT" and you'll see stuff that tells you whether or not the router is compatible with the firmware and which version will (and won't) work.

chiefcrash
11-19-2009, 7:41 PM
DDWRT is the shiznit, but it would be overkill in this case. I would just go vanilla firmware linksys, probably a WRT-160.

What you would probably do is replace the wired router with the wireless one and move the PPOE information for your DSL connection over to the new wireless router.

Not really. Put DD-WRT micro on there. The main reason for DD-WRT is it needs fewer reboots than stock firmware...

chiefcrash
11-19-2009, 7:42 PM
The DD-WRT makes a rather plain "G" router into something pretty spectacular, IMO. However, it's a bit daunting to begin with, because if you don't follow the steps correctly, you "brick" the router. Get a wireless N compatible model. Then, as you acquire newer notebook/laptop computers, they'll work with it and be able to use the higher connection speeds (which will still be faster than your DSL speed). The higher speeds will allow for faster file transfers through your network... which you'll appreciate if you start using one of your computers as a file server...

That's why I go with the WRT54GL: it's specifically designed to be compatible with the likes of DD-WRT. Just use the build in firmware upgrade function and bingo!

Use the "micro" version, and it'll make it a smaller, simpler version.

JDay
11-19-2009, 8:22 PM
I've read of a few bricked routers that needed a bit of surgery to revive them... that takes a little longer than 1 min...

All you have to do is make sure boot_wait is enabled before you attempt to flash. If it fails you can push a firmware image to it with tftp. Takes literally seconds.

rjf
11-20-2009, 11:18 AM
I may go with the wap54g. I want to locate the wireless in a central location to maximize coverage. The dsl and router are in the garage close to the phone box. Any other options?

MR2Chuck
11-20-2009, 1:28 PM
I may go with the wap54g. I want to locate the wireless in a central location to maximize coverage. The dsl and router are in the garage close to the phone box. Any other options?

Yes, you can locate the WAP54g in a central location without moving your current equipment. Connect it to a current or new ethernet cable connection from the existing router.

The only sticky point is configuration: The WAP54g default ip address is 192.168.1.245. The WAP should be in the same subnet as your router , so, for example if your router is 192.168.2.xxx, you need to connect the WAP directly to your PC and change the 3rd octet in its address to match. eg. 192.168.2.245

rjf
11-21-2009, 3:10 PM
The only sticky point is configuration: The WAP54g default ip address is 192.168.1.245. The WAP should be in the same subnet as your router , so, for example if your router is 192.168.2.xxx, you need to connect the WAP directly to your PC and change the 3rd octet in its address to match. eg. 192.168.2.245

Exactly what I was looking for. Thank you very much!

This configuration change will allow two routers on the same network.

bobcatmech
11-21-2009, 4:24 PM
wireless router for indoor works well-we run 4 laptops in my house all wireless and with the cradlepoint wireless router we have it keeps up nicely and is pretty secure..