View Full Version : M1 Garand help please

11-08-2009, 2:20 PM
I just recently bought an M1 Garand. I totally love it, but there are some kinks to work out. I'm VERY new to this whole thing. (Trained on M16's and M4's ect) Anyways I took it out to the range for the first time, properly lubricated in all it's appropriate spots and I'm using CMP M2 ball ammunition. It shoots just fine, but It jams like every 2nd or 3rd round. It stops like half way through the feeding process and I had to push the charging handle forward to send it home (once every 2 or 3 rounds).

I don't have the slightest clue as to what to look at first. From tinkering with it it looks like that the follower is pushing up too much on the bolt and prevents it from going forward? Thoughts on this... totally lost. I'm excited to learn more on the subject. Any help and input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

11-08-2009, 2:21 PM
more lube.......

11-08-2009, 3:49 PM
Did you detail-strip it or just take the stock off? There could be untold piles of gunk in there. Soak and scrub all the metal parts in a good solvent, then re-lube. I really recommend that you use GREASE on all the major bearing surfaces, if you aren't. It lubricates better than oil and stays where you put it. Automotive high-temp. grease has always worked great for me and a $7 can will last you years, on all your guns.

Just for your reference, the bolt catching on the follower (in an empty gun of course) is quite normal. That is the source of the infamous "Garand thumb"; you pull the bolt back (but not far enough), it sticks on the follower instead of locking, and as soon as you touch the follower the bolt slams shut.

11-08-2009, 7:27 PM