PDA

View Full Version : Is it OK to Dry Fire an AR15?

Phil3
11-04-2009, 8:49 AM
The title says it all...safe to dry fire an AR15? I am new to ARs, but after each shot, the trigger is cocked, so it appears one must always effectively dry-fire the gun at some point (i.e., when finished shooting).

- Phil

Jicko
11-04-2009, 8:52 AM
yes

AmpedUp
Yes its fine. Just need to make sure you don't dry fire a lower with no upper or BCG.

Group B
Yes

11-04-2009, 9:23 AM
Yes its fine. Just need to make sure you don't dry fire a lower with no upper or BCG.

Why ? Please explain.

Packy14
11-04-2009, 9:25 AM
Why ? Please explain.

you will crack your lower

bender152
11-04-2009, 9:32 AM
Why ? Please explain.

The hammer strikes the bolt catch and could cause damage.

WeekendWarrior
11-04-2009, 9:46 AM
WWRTW

reidnez
11-04-2009, 9:51 AM
The title says it all...safe to dry fire an AR15? I am new to ARs, but after each shot, the trigger is cocked, so it appears one must always effectively dry-fire the gun at some point (i.e., when finished shooting).

- Phil

Why do you assume that to be the case? Many rifles and pistols sit for years and decades cocked, and they function just fine. If it were a bad design, then all weapons would come with decocking levers.

It is usage (compression and expansion) that wears out springs, not constant compression. But even that is a rather moot point, as good springs last a very long time (thousands of rounds) and are cheap to replace in any event.

It's quite fine to dry-fire an AR, and in fact snapping in is a very good way to practice shooting positions and trigger control at home. When I was a young Marine recruit, we snapped in a couple thousand times before we were given live rounds on the range. Just make sure you thoroughly clear the weapon (by sight and feel) multiple times before you do it. Don't even have live rounds in the same room.

Phil3
11-04-2009, 10:20 AM