PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 and ARMS #40L backup rear sights.

Veggie
11-03-2009, 2:12 PM
Does this look right? I sighted it in for only about 40 yards. Seems wierd to me they would be so far right. But I am not an expert so that's why I am asking.

MasterYong
11-03-2009, 2:22 PM
Probably normal.

I know they're backup sights but I know that's typical for irons that come on standard A@2 (and others) style uppers. I had the same question about the sights on my DPMS A2 upper and got a lot of "that's normal" and such...

Sunshine
11-03-2009, 2:25 PM
It makes shooting weak side interesting

DarkHorse
11-03-2009, 2:39 PM
Does this look right?

It definitely doesn't look "left.":p

I sighted it in for only about 40 yards. Seems wierd to me they would be so far right. But I am not an export so that's why I am asking.

So you're an import?:D

But seriously, I'd think it's OK. The FSB could be slightly canted, the rail may be slightly off, etc. With tolerance stack-up from 4-5 parts, something like that is bound to exist, and still work.

-hanko
11-03-2009, 2:55 PM
Does this look right? I sighted it in for only about 40 yards. Seems wierd to me they would be so far right. But I am not an export so that's why I am asking.
What were your groups at 40 yds.?? I.e., what did the target look line once the rifle was sighted in??

-hanko

Veggie
11-03-2009, 3:34 PM
4 inch groupings or so without a rest. just sitting down at a small table in a field lol.

I am basically asking this to make sure my gun isn't messed up or something.

Purple K
11-03-2009, 3:38 PM
The Front sight/gas block is probably rotated a bit to the left.

MasterYong
11-03-2009, 5:52 PM
4" at 40 yds? Isn't that like 10 MOA?

OUCH

That probably isn't the sights though, unless they're shifting under recoil. How tight was that rear sight?

Veggie
11-03-2009, 5:54 PM
I wasnt on a rest and i was stoping between shots.

I am still learning. I know I should have done a few shots before i stop and look

MasterYong