PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Break-In

Phil3
11-02-2009, 7:16 AM
Barrel Break-In & Fouling

I built my first AR15 and took it to the range, and it worked OK, but have a question on barrel break-in. Please note, I am very new to centerfire, hence the novice question. Per Krieger’s instructions, I cleaned after each shot for the first 5 shots, and then after each group of 5 for the next 3 – 4 groups (25 rounds total), yet carbon fouling seemed severe (very black patches). I never saw any evidence of any copper fouling (copper color in interior of barrel at muzzle end), or any green color on the patch, which is what I expected. I did not expect to see the very black patches, even after just one round.

I was using TM Bore Cleaner, and later tried Butch’s BoreShine (same result). I let both sit in the barrel for a few minutes. Ammo used was PMC Bronze 55 grain FMJ.

The gun was shooting .75” groups, and a best of .625” at 100 yards, and then on one group, opened up to about 2”. I cleaned the barrel, and it got notably better. I had not cleaned the barrel for probably something like 20 rounds at this point.

How much carbon fouling is expected and am I missing the copper fouling somehow?

- Phil

Greg-Dawg
11-02-2009, 8:28 AM
What kind of barrel? Chrome lined? Chrome moly? Stainless?

ocabj
11-02-2009, 8:54 AM
My AR cleaning has evolved in the past couple years. What I do now:

1. Remove charging handle and BCG. Disassemble BCG on a mat. Spray down charging handle and BCG parts with M-Pro7.

2. With upper removed from lower, put in cradle upside down. Spray receiver channel with M-Pro 7. Use plastic bristle brush on inside to loosen fouling. Use paper towel or rag to wipe out.

3. Holding upper muzzle down into a pan or other receptacle, spray M-Pro7 into chamber a few times and let M-Pro7 drip out of muzzle. Let sit in cradle. Use chamber cleaning brush to scrub chamber and lugs. Use 12gauge mop to wipe lug recess. Use 30 cal mop to wipe chamber.