PDA

View Full Version : shooting with both eyes open

coltn46920
11-01-2009, 8:12 AM
I heard that shooting with both eyes open is better? Is this true? I heard that closings one eye while shooting can damage your vision permanently. Is this true?

I find it impossible to shoot with both eyes open. I can't focus on the target. And flinching becomes a problem.

Sheepdog1968
11-01-2009, 8:20 AM
Shooting with both eyes open IMO is highly overrated and overemphasized. In real combat you are going to have tunnel vision anyway. Close one eye and be done with it. I've been shooting firearms and air rifles for 30 years and there has been no damage I am aware of because of thid. My prescription for my glasses has hardly changed over twenty years.

What I think is much more important is to practice shooting stong hand, weak hand including single handed. Much more likely to need this. Also do same for long arms.

Jonathan Doe
11-01-2009, 8:26 AM
I shoot competitively, and I shoot with both eyes open. When you look through the peep sights, you will see the difference between shooting with both eyes open and one eye closed. At least I see the difference.

maschronic
11-01-2009, 8:28 AM
i always try shooting with both eyes open. it helps me to see the surrounding while i'm aiming at the target.

when i'm shooting rifle, it is 1 eye open.

VegasND
11-01-2009, 8:34 AM
How does the vision in your two eyes compare? I'm left handed and, because of a bad astigmatism in the left, right eye dominant. I've had to adjust quite a bit to this and find it impossible to focus on sights or target with both eyes open. I also shoot long gun right handed because of the eyes.

A good shooting coach who understands the limitations people may have to work with can help.

five.five-six
11-01-2009, 8:36 AM
I like shooting with both eyes closed

Diablo
11-01-2009, 8:41 AM
Check out this thread. Good information here..

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=80034

Beelzy
11-01-2009, 8:47 AM