PDA

View Full Version : Got a ticket

resident-shooter
10-28-2009, 4:33 PM
Bad news, people. I got a ticket for shooting a 22 in a wildlife area. The amount is $1142. Should I try to go to court and take a lawyer? Is there any chance to bring this amount down? I mean I am just a poor student and this is a BIG chunk of cash for me :(

Check post #80 for an update.

Unit74
10-28-2009, 4:35 PM
Were you hunting or something? What is the violation code?

bballwizard05
10-28-2009, 4:37 PM
holy shizzle!! your better off getting a DUI (not really but I heard there only a 1000 bucks). But yea more details about the ticket may help

resident-shooter
10-28-2009, 4:38 PM
Were you hunting or something? What is the violation code?

No, just shooting paper targets. CCRT- 14551 (q)(36)(A) - possession and use of a rifle in a wildlife area. I don't know why it's THAT big when I was not hunting anything.

B Strong
10-28-2009, 4:44 PM
No, just shooting paper targets. CCRT- 14551 (q)(36)(A) - possession and use of a rifle in a wildlife area. I don't know why it's THAT big when I was not hunting anything.

Get a lawyer.

Just walking into court and telling the judge that you can't ubderstand why the fine is so high won't get you anywhere.

At least get the fine knocked down a bit and get a payment plan.

Best of luck.

Super Spy
10-28-2009, 4:49 PM
If your poor you may qualify for a public defender, who may plea the thing down to something cheaper. I assume it's a misdemeanor not an infraction? If so and your poor the public defenders office may help.

resident-shooter
10-28-2009, 4:53 PM
Thanks for advices. It is a misdemeanor and it has no effect on criminal records or insurance or anything. I just called and no one was there, but the machine told me that since Jan 1, 2009, they make NO payment plans......

stix213
10-28-2009, 5:08 PM