PDA

View Full Version : **Updated** Switching out AR15 barrels?

mountaindweller
10-19-2009, 5:49 PM
I wondered what tools I needed to switch out my existing barrel from the upper receiver to install a new one? Anybody help me out on this one? It is my first time with an AR15 and, somebody not to be named, sold me a bent upper barrel.....I thought it was just the sights that was making it shoot high and right. But on closer inspection the barrel is bent. Anyway could somebody let me know?

I got my panties in a bunch before I assesed the whole situation..

The gas block under the Troy Rail system is not level (lining up straight) causeing the rail to lean slightly to the left when firmly attached to the upper....which in turn is causing the offset sights. I am almost certain this is what the problem is, but am going to AR15 barrels to get it checked. Thanks all for the information....it is much appriciated....most of you guys out there are some pretty rad dudes.

tomd1584
10-19-2009, 5:50 PM
its bent and still shot? how far off was the POI from POA?

mountaindweller
10-19-2009, 5:54 PM
its bent and still shot? how far off was the POI from POA?

Not bent as if I put it in a vice and pulled on it. But slightly off to the right....very evendent when inspected closely lined up with the Troy Rail system. Shot high & right about 6"+ at 25yards. thought it was the sights but did everything i could to readjust....still shot exactly in the same spot. It makes sense to me now that I noticed the barrel.

Do you know how to switch out the barrels?

reidnez
10-19-2009, 5:58 PM
A bent barrel?! If true, that is some pretty lousy Q.C. I guess we need to add "straight barrel" to that AR15 manufacturer comparison matrix that has been floating around. :eek: Would you at least name the manufacturer?

Can you post some pics, maybe with the rails removed and a straight-edge next to the barrel?

five.five-six
10-19-2009, 6:00 PM
Would you at least name the manufacturer?