PDA

View Full Version : Moderately Priced Spotting Scope Suggestions (for 5.56 @200y)

Charles4400
10-19-2009, 2:55 PM
I wanted to know your suggestions on spotting scopes since I have no hands on experience with them...

Looking for something that is relatively inexpensive ($150 at the high end) and will last...

Was looking at the Barska scope 18-90x88 for $125...is Barska a reliable brand?

I got in an NCstar 20-60x60 but recieved the thing with a piece rattling in inside the scope and the eyepiece with some crazy blemishes on the lense...don't want to gothat route again and am returning it!

Any recommendations would be appreciated...

Thanks!

Black Majik
10-19-2009, 3:01 PM
Before everyone starts coming in here stating how happy they are with their walmart specials, I'll just say... Don't skimp on glass. :)

ocabj
10-19-2009, 3:02 PM
I'd recommend the Konuspot 80 and a decent scope stand. Unfortunately, it's above your $150 price point.

You're not going to have much luck with sub-$200 spotting scopes and .22cal holes at 200 yards, even in ideal conditions.

Even with a Kowa 821M and a 27x LER eyepiece, I find spotting 22cal on paper at 200 yards can be difficult depending on how the light hits the target (sun behind, above, or in front), lighting conditions in general (overcast vs full sun), and mirage.

If you don't want to spend on quality spotting scope, I'd almost recommend just buying Shoot N C targets or designing a target stand + backer system that aids in seeing holes on target. If you're going to shoot a lot at regulation short range, then a good spotting scope is worth the $700+ cost. If you're only an occasional 200+ yard shooter, then Shoot N C targets will get you by.