PDA

View Full Version : complete noob to reloading...why not dillon 1050?

aethyr
10-19-2009, 9:53 AM
In my life I've endeavored to learn some new things/hobbies/activities. When I learned to ride motorcycles years ago, everyone said start small. When I picked up tennis, they said avoid buying the best racquet. The general advice for noobs is to avoid buying the best equipment...I've sometimes followed that advice and other time I haven't.

So here I am considering reloading and the general advice is to avoid the "best" reloading equipment if you're a first time reloader.

My main reason for considering a 1050 is speed. I have a few hours of free time a day and frankly I don't want to spend it reloading...I'd rather be shooting. I'm willing to pay the initial cost of learning. The question is, can I learn reloading on a 1050 and will it actually be faster?

I am kind of a DIYer so I think I will stick with it. But at the same time I know some things you just can't DIY.

Mikeb
10-19-2009, 9:59 AM
I'm not familiar with the 1050 but from what I understand it is intended as a professional machine. I don't believe it has the same warranty as the other Dillon presses and I understand it is more difficult to change calibers.
You never mentioned what you want to reload.
take care
Mike

aethyr
10-19-2009, 10:07 AM
Pistol initially - 9mm, 40, 45...

But later 223/5.56, 6.5 grendel...

I shoot around 1000-1500 /month. I know from my research that those numbers point to dillon 550 or 650. But I don't want to spend 2-3 hours reloading.

I know the 1050 is billed as a commercial press. My main concern is speed. If its fast and learnable then maybe its for me.

Triple R Munitions
10-19-2009, 10:20 AM