PDA

View Full Version : I bought a rem. 700 308 vtr anyone have suggestions on how to get best peformance

travisbomhff
10-18-2009, 7:54 PM
I just bought a remington vtr 308, im new to long guns and im looking for some advice on how to fine tune the peformance of this rifle.

Requiem
10-18-2009, 8:02 PM
Honestly, IMO, worry about perfecting your marksmanship skills. Other than that, get a decent optic, bipod, sling, and test which ammo your gun likes best. Snipershide.com are a bunch of helpful guys too.

BrowningTBolt
10-18-2009, 8:06 PM
Reload.

dfletcher
10-18-2009, 8:38 PM
I just bought a remington vtr 308, im new to long guns and im looking for some advice on how to fine tune the peformance of this rifle.

Reload and tweak the factory trigger a bit, it can be improved much over the factory setting by adjusting the screws. Then lots of practice while you figure out which loads work best.

Rob454
10-18-2009, 9:21 PM
Get a good scope for it. Remis are great out of the box

ar15barrels
10-18-2009, 11:00 PM
Practice.
A lot.
There's no replacement you can buy for experience.

BillyGoatMachine
10-18-2009, 11:06 PM
Yup, tune the trigger and reload your own ammo. Spend as much $$ on your scope as you did your rifle.

swerv512
10-19-2009, 8:51 AM