PDA

View Full Version : ...

cal3gunner
10-15-2009, 6:31 PM

ke6guj
10-15-2009, 6:34 PM
you can do that if you home state allows for it. But guess what, CA doesn't, so we can't buy long guns out of state. There is an exemption for some C&R rifles, but for the most part, can't be done legally.

deebix
10-15-2009, 6:40 PM
If I am a california resident and I go over to nevada and buy a rifle, but leave it there, am I good to go? Can I do such a thing in the first place?

bwiese
10-15-2009, 6:46 PM
If I am a california resident and I go over to nevada and buy a rifle, but leave it there, am I good to go? Can I do such a thing in the first place?

Nope.

quick draw mcgraw
10-15-2009, 6:58 PM
I spoke to California DOJ/ATF about this a year or so ago. I was told that it is not illegal for a California resident to own a listed AW so long as it is not "possessed" in California. However, I tried several times in vain to get them to put that in writing. I also spoke to a number of out of state dealers and manufacturers (Bushmaster, Wilson Combat, DPMS, and Impact Guns) and while they all agreed that it was not illegal and were sympathetic, none would sell me a firearm even with a signed disclaimer that the firearm would NOT be possessed in California, but rather would be legally stored and used in Nevada. All were worried that it would cause them problems with DOJ and/or ATF. Maybe you can find an out of state friend or family member who is willing to buy it and store it so you can "borrow" it when you visit.

bwiese
10-15-2009, 7:21 PM
I spoke to California DOJ/ATF about this a year or so ago. I was told that it is not illegal for a California resident to own a listed AW so long as it is not "possessed" in California.

You don't need a DOJ letter. Some of this is inferrable from the old DOJ AW "reg-a-gun" FAQ.

CA AW law only regulates possession & acquisition of an AW (named or by feature) in CA and not your possession of it outside CA.