PDA

View Full Version : New to AR15, need help to put upper to lower.


tiko
10-13-2009, 8:55 PM
Hi, I have just finished my very first OLL assembly(with BB), when I put my assembled DPMS A2 upper to the pivot pin, it OK. But it is very hard to put on the take down pin, I had to use a 5/32 punch , depress very hard the upper to align the holes, put the punch in from left side, then had to use a mallet to tap in the take down pin. Is it normal that hard ( had to press real hard to align the holes) or I have to do some fitting/filing?
Thank you very much.

THT
10-13-2009, 9:00 PM
It's not uncommon for an upper and lower to be really tight. My RRA lower to an upper I built is about that tight while the original RRA upper had a little play. Same goes for the CMMG .22LR upper and 14.5" M4 upper I had.

sevensix2x51
10-13-2009, 9:00 PM
imho, if the pins made it in, you are good to go. i have to disassemble my ar w/ dpms upper with a punch. and assemble it with some serious whoop-a@@ with the heel of my palm to the takedown pins. but it sure is accurate! :thumbsup:

Vinz
10-13-2009, 9:46 PM
well at least you don't have the opposite problem. A loose fitting upper sucks.

You might want to buy an extended rear pin so you can pop it without tools.

http://www.metaldogtactical.com/extadopin.html
vinz

mds2004
10-13-2009, 9:48 PM
Normal for tight fitting between uppers and lowers. Shoot a lot through it and it will definitely loosen up. You are good to go.

SanSacto
10-13-2009, 9:51 PM
well at least you don't have the opposite problem. A loose fitting upper sucks.
You might want to buy an extended rear pin so you can pop it without tools.

http://www.metaldogtactical.com/extadopin.html
vinz

I would also definitely rather have a super tight fit than a loose fit.

tiko
10-13-2009, 9:51 PM
Thanks, I can rest assured now :)

CHS
10-13-2009, 10:59 PM
but it sure is accurate! :thumbsup:

The upper/lower slop has nothing to do with accuracy. You know that, right?