PDA

View Full Version : First Time

OG Z
10-10-2009, 8:53 PM
ok first post here we go.

i compare ARs to honda civics. no matter what you put on or drop in it is still a honda civic. no matter how many rails grips and lasers an AR has, it is still just an AR. just like a honda is good if you havent driven a 240z, an AR is good if you havent shot an FNC. however just like the honda, ARs are priced to sell so why not.

I like my rifles like my cars, light and pointy. so i think when i start building i will go with a .625 barrel. no rails, i am looking for the super super old school CAR triangle hand guards. they look like a1 hand guards but cut to carbine length. if anyone knows where to get them i would appreciate the help, but i have a feeling i wont ever find them. so i think a magpul moe guard would be fine. i have questions for experienced builders.

i have never done this before, i have auto and motorcycle tools, what else will i need?

i am looking into gas piston systems, but i am afraid they will add too much weight to the front end and i really am not interested in the performance advantages if it makes the rifle feel anything but just right in my hands. also, i am not sure if any gas systems are compatible with .625 barrels. any ideas?

headspacing. how do i adjust it on ARs?

i have shot an A2 for years and i hate it. the pistol grip uncomfortable angle. i either need something closer to 90 (feels like an uzi) or something even steeper than the stock grip to give it an FAL feel. anyone felt a FAL??? yeah comfy right? any ideas for a pistol grip? i have seen a cool grip on LR300s but i havent felt one. anybody?

pneumatic or hydraulic buffers. worth it?