PDA

View Full Version : Rearsenaled/refinished definition ???

SilverSalmon
10-09-2009, 7:56 AM
What is the technical definition of rearsenaled or refinished parts in regards to a C&R. Are the parts still original? etc.? I think my Garands Special from CMP has some refinished parts, but technically i don't know how that differs from a Service grade Garand? All my parts are matching and from Springfield Armory. I'm a newbie trying to get clarity and understanding. Thanks in advance for your help.

Jarhead
10-09-2009, 6:24 PM
Per CMP: SERVICE GRADE: (Good to Very Good)
Service Grade Rifles show less wear and better appearance than Field or Rack Grades. Good to very good condition. Rifle wear will be exhibited by worn and mixed colors of the parkerized finish. There may be some minor pitting on the metal parts. Wood will be either Walnut, Birch, Beech or other variety and will be basically sound but may have minor hairline cracks, dings, scratches and gouges. Wood may not match in color or type of wood. Wood may be of new production on Service Grade Garands. Bores will be generally good with only minor imperfections. The barrel crown may be nicked, but the muzzle will gauge less than 3 and the throat erosion will gauge less than 5.

Manufacturer selection only guarantees the receiver was produced by the manufacturer listed. The barrel and the other parts may have been produced by other manufacturers.

Jarhead
10-09-2009, 6:26 PM
more CMP: Over the past 65 years, most M1 rifles have been arsenal rebuilt, refinished, rebarreled or repaired at least once and often several times. Most will show signs of service (often considerable) and replacement of various parts. They are seldom encountered with all original parts and original finish as delivered from the manufacturer. Such "original" rifles, even in well-used condition, are highly prized by collectors.

Jarhead
10-09-2009, 6:26 PM
Still the BEST C&R buy out there today

SilverSalmon
10-09-2009, 7:15 PM