PDA

View Full Version : What makes a stock six positions, stock or tube?


supermario
10-06-2009, 8:39 PM
Hello guys, I was wondering what makes a stock able to have 6 positions?
Is it the buffer tube or the stock makes up the positions. Can you put a 4 position stock onto a 6 position tube and will it be able to have the 6 positions.

Forgive me for this dumb question but I dont know:(

J_Rock
10-06-2009, 8:41 PM
The buffer tube has either 4 or 5 holes in the bottom for the locking pin of the stock to go into. Doesnt matter which stock you use

DB2
10-06-2009, 8:41 PM
Tube

tomd1584
10-06-2009, 8:42 PM
the receiver extension (tube) has holes for the stock.

You can put a collapsable stock on a 4-postion tube, 5-position tube, or 6-position tube. It will work on all of them.

swerv512
10-06-2009, 8:42 PM
^^^
+1...
What they said...

supermario
10-06-2009, 8:43 PM
The buffer tube

Ok thanks, thats what i figured. thats what every notch in the buffer tube is for huh. The stock basically just clicks into each position that is available. I wasnt sure but thanks for answering quickly. :)

dieselpower
10-06-2009, 10:18 PM
On Mil-spec stocks the locking pin locks into the holes in the tube. There are 2, 4, 5 and 6 position tubes.

Commercial stocks have the locking pin in different positions, so one commercial stock may work on a 6 position tube, but another stock may only lock into 5 of the 6 positions. This is due to where on the stock they put the pin. IIRC UTG 4 position stock kits have stocks that can not lock on all 6 positions. I had a 4 position CAA and it worked on 6 position stocks.

In any case, the number of locking places in the tube is the number of positions the stock has.