PDA

View Full Version : CCW renewal refused

velocedue
10-04-2009, 8:54 PM
I have had a California CCW issued in San Diego County for 38 years. I originally was approved because I am a dentist but the reason given on the CCW was "Self protection". I have also been a member of the San Diego Honorary Deputy Sheriff's Association for 15 years. Last March, after taking the safety course and firing for Proficiency and doing extremely well, (I used to shoot competitively), the clerk in the relicensing division would not renew my CCW. The reason she stated was that because I had retired during the year I could no longer show a sufficient reason to have a CCW. She recommended that I not try to go any higher than her since it would do no good and then I would have a "Denied" on my record instead of just a "Not renewed". So I am now without the right and means to protect myself and my family.
Does anyone have any suggestions about how to get this decision reversed? We have a new, temporarily appointed sheriff but I have heard he is anti CCW. Any info on that?:mad:

badhabit90
10-04-2009, 9:17 PM
so i would have asked her what is the definition of the "not renewed" as versus the "denied" in her eyes.??? so whos decision was it to NOT renew you??? hers??? isnt there a process of appeal?? sounds like a clerk just trying to make something of herself and say "to try to go any higher than me" is terrible....good luck.

MP301
10-04-2009, 10:39 PM
im thinking that you might be the perfect plaintiff for some legal action. Contact the 2a attornies here on Calguns

Spade421
10-04-2009, 11:29 PM
wow I'd be pissed just because your retired doesn't mean you shouldn't have the right to protect yourself with a firearm especially after doing so for that many years !

Blademan21
10-05-2009, 7:16 AM