PDA

View Full Version : AR Legal?

zx10r203
10-02-2009, 1:25 AM
So I went to the range (Reeds) a few days ago and saw that they have an AR15 (I am almost sure) in .223. Now I am new to the gun owning experience and am not too sure if the normal Joe (myself) could buy something like that!?!?

So the question is, can I????

AdamM
10-02-2009, 1:30 AM
Yes

k1dude
10-02-2009, 1:30 AM
Yes. But first familiarize yourself with the laws regarding legal ownership. The info on this site is a good reference.

ac427cpe
10-02-2009, 1:38 AM
yup, see the CA AW flowchart in the banner to make sure you stay on the right side of the law.

here is a good starting point: http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=56818

Hayashi Killian
10-02-2009, 3:04 AM
It's legal if it's not one of the named banned rifles or receivers.

It's also legal if it has a fixed magazine with certain features, or a detachable one without those features.

For more detailed information, check out the AW flowchart: http://www.calguns.net/caawid/flowchart.pdf

Sunshine
10-02-2009, 3:23 AM
Also make sure that:

1) OAL is at least 30 inches (not really a problem)

2) If taking the fixed mag route, 10 round mags only.

tenpercentfirearms
10-02-2009, 7:17 AM
http://www.tenpercentfirearms.com/index.php?main_page=ar15

fliparch
10-02-2009, 8:30 AM
Check out our local and non local (supporter) VENDORS (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=75) in here, most sell complete AR-15 rifles. They are legal but I suggest you read up why they are and what are illegal. It will save you lots of grief in the future.

tombinghamthegreat
10-02-2009, 9:29 AM
Yes you can AK, AR, FAL ect Style rifles, refer to the AW flowchart.

stix213
10-02-2009, 12:24 PM
So I went to the range (Reeds) a few days ago and saw that they have an AR15 (I am almost sure) in .223. Now I am new to the gun owning experience and am not too sure if the normal Joe (myself) could buy something like that!?!?

So the question is, can I????