PDA

View Full Version : Free packet sniffers?


6172crew
10-01-2009, 9:06 AM
The tech school Im in has and issue with the 2 networks,

business DSL at 4 mbps

2 Vlans

150 hosts

12 switches and a wireless access point

They are looking for a free packet sniffer that can tell them who what when where and why the connectivity to the outside will fail after re-boot of the router...which is a netopia att router.

They think they have a swith that is brodcasting but no software to monitor where the issue is.

lazyworm
10-01-2009, 9:07 AM
wireshark for the win. http://www.wireshark.org/

nick
10-01-2009, 9:08 AM
You beat me to it :)

MS Network Monitor is also free, but Ethereal/Wireshark is better.

ocabj
10-01-2009, 9:24 AM
wireshark for the win. http://www.wireshark.com/

URL for the loss.

http://www.wireshark.org/

I have no idea what you mean when you say they have a switch that is broadcasting, but you'll want to run wireshark or tcpdump on a box which is plugged into a mirrored port.

6172crew
10-01-2009, 9:28 AM
Thanks folks, wireshark was the one I was thinking about.:)

SmokinMr2
10-01-2009, 9:53 AM
http://www.wireshark.org/ appears to be the appropriate site.

bigmike82
10-01-2009, 12:00 PM
Wireshark FTMFW.

bigmike82
10-01-2009, 12:01 PM
Of course, if you have a Linux box, you can also use TCPDump.

JDay
10-02-2009, 7:36 AM
Of course, if you have a Linux box, you can also use TCPDump.

But why? Wireshark is on that platform too.

bigmike82
10-02-2009, 9:30 AM
If you only have command line access.

I had to use it to show my asterisk admin that he was wrong the other day. :D

NSR500
10-03-2009, 12:36 AM
WIRESHARK!!!

jmlivingston
10-03-2009, 6:52 AM
The tech school Im in has and issue with the 2 networks,

business DSL at 4 mbps

2 Vlans

150 hosts

12 switches and a wireless access point

They are looking for a free packet sniffer that can tell them who what when where and why the connectivity to the outside will fail after re-boot of the router...which is a netopia att router.

They think they have a swith that is brodcasting but no software to monitor where the issue is.

Next time it fails, plug a laptop or PC directly into the Netopia and disconnect everything else. That'll tell you real quick whether the problem is inside the network or on your edge. It's been a few years since I've been on a Netopia, but last time I was they had pretty decent logs and statistics on them.