PDA

View Full Version : T-Mobile Cell phone help


FS00008
09-30-2009, 6:48 PM
I have a Nokia 6133 and the display/phone is acting whonky on it. It can send calls if I type in the number, but the display is non-functional and it turns off without warning. Does anyone here work on cell phones or have an old basic t-mobile GSM phone that they don't want anymore that works?

the_natterjack
09-30-2009, 7:06 PM
I have a Nokia 6133 and the display/phone is acting whonky on it. It can send calls if I type in the number, but the display is non-functional and it turns off without warning. Does anyone here work on cell phones or have an old basic t-mobile GSM phone that they don't want anymore that works?

You can buy the cheap pay as you go T-Mobile phone and use your sim card in it. Maybe $20?

I'm sure I have an old phone floating around, where are you located?

FS00008
09-30-2009, 7:12 PM
I'm in East Bay. I'm trying not to give any more money to T-mobile as I am off contract in February and will not continue with them due to service issues. How long do those cheapies last? Do they support copious use of SMS and MMS?

FS00008
09-30-2009, 7:12 PM
And if you have an old one I'd rather buy one from a CGN'er than T-mobile.

the_natterjack
09-30-2009, 7:25 PM
LOL, I have a cheapo candy bar type that I've used as a backup when my old phone broke. No camera "GASP", should do SMS but not MMS, and voice is ok.
It's yours if you want it, no $$.

I'm near Hayward and home late afternoons but I work an early early AM shift.

FS00008
09-30-2009, 7:29 PM
Meh, I could get by. Do you shoot 8MM?

the_natterjack
09-30-2009, 7:33 PM
Meh, I could get by. Do you shoot 8MM?

LOL , Ok, let me know and no, no 8mm:willy_nilly:

FS00008
09-30-2009, 7:35 PM
Oh ok, well I don't get down there that often (I live in San Ramon/Work in San Ramon and go to school in Pleasant Hill) but I do need a working phone... so I could try to get down there this weekend.


Man I love this site!

SirMikeAlot
10-01-2009, 11:22 PM
Good looking out Natterjack. :D *props* :D

Gunaria
10-01-2009, 11:48 PM
If the one from Natterjack doesn't work for you, hit me up, I may have one for you.

FS00008
10-02-2009, 4:51 PM
Well if yours is MMS capable it would work a little better for me...

Gunaria
10-02-2009, 5:04 PM
I don't remember if it is or not. It was the butt basic phone that you got for free when signing up for T-moblie a few years ago.

the_natterjack
10-02-2009, 5:24 PM
I don't remember if it is or not. It was the butt basic phone that you got for free when signing up for T-moblie a few years ago.

LOL, cheap like me:43:

FS00008
10-02-2009, 5:34 PM
Hmm..

JDay
10-02-2009, 7:03 PM
The phone doesn't have to be from t-mobile, any unlocked GSM phone will work.

FS00008
10-02-2009, 9:50 PM
I've been down that route. Network features don't work well if it's just an unlocked GSM.

JDay
10-02-2009, 11:41 PM
Depends on the phone, my Ipaq HW6945 works fine on t-mobile and its a factory unlocked phone. You just have to make sure the phone has the correct settings entered for network and mms access.

FS00008
10-02-2009, 11:43 PM
Yea but that's a smart phone...?

JDay
10-03-2009, 1:00 AM
Yea but that's a smart phone...?

Yeah.