PDA

View Full Version : What would you do?

U5512
09-25-2009, 7:35 PM
Newbie here!!!:D

So back in the 90's I bought a Hungarian made AK-47 variant SA85M with the thumbhole stock from a gun store in Lake Forest, CA. I was shooting may be 100 rounds through it with my friend and I put it away. I wasn't active in the gun/shooting scene or gunshows, and I obviously wasn't aware of the registration requirement in CA for "assault weapon". My SA85M wasn't registered with the state. I am now an owner of a banned and non-registered weapon. Would a gunstore, say Turner's Outdoorsman, be able to sell the gun for me to someone outside of CA? I would like to keep it and lately wanting to get out in the desert with my co-worker to do some plinking, but I am afraid if a law enforcement officer sees it I am pretty much doomed. What would you do?

nn3453
09-25-2009, 7:39 PM
Ask a moderator to delete this thread. Then talk to a lawyer ASAP on how to dispose it off safely. The lawyer should be able to help you turn it over to the police/arrange for disposal without getting you in much trouble. If you don't have priors, the cops are unlikely to charge you and you will get off clean or with fines. As it stands you are facing charges. Get off the Internet and call a competent lawyer.

djleisure
09-25-2009, 7:42 PM
Uhm, you just admitted to a felony on the interwebs... good thing you were just kidding about that whole thing, right? RIGHT?! ;)

technique
09-25-2009, 7:43 PM
Ask a moderator to delete this thread. Then talk to a lawyer ASAP on how to dispose it off safely. The lawyer should be able to help you turn it over to the police/arrange for disposal without getting you in much trouble. As it stands you are not just the owner of a banned weapon, you are facing charges.

Uh...no.

If its Banned by name, cut the Receiver in half. Buy a non-listed rec. and rebuild it, get a compliant grip or mag locking device and some 10rnd mags.

69Mach1
09-25-2009, 7:44 PM