PDA

View Full Version : Figures on unregistered AW's in California?

09-07-2005, 1:20 PM
I am a newbie here, so I hope this isn't either a beaten to death topic, or something that is taboo...but I have a question...or an observation..or...whatever http://calguns.net/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It seems that MOST of the law abiding, gun owners I know have at least one non- compliant "assault rifle"...many of these are not so called pre-ban. Several of the guys had bushmasters and such from other states they picked up at some point, and even one had a full auto AK-looking thing his son in the miltary brought to him as a gift from somewhere. He wanted to bring that thing out to the local range the other day...he didnt even realize is was a big no-no (he didnt even have ammo for it, either).

I don't think any of them intentionally broke the law by having them, and most are just casual owners and don't really follow the current laws. I have to think that a big chunk of unregistered assault weapons in CA are cases like this. They don't want to register now because they may (will?) be taken from them. I also don't really know the total laws, aside from they are not allowed.

Has anyone seens any articles or write ups on "normal" people breaking this law? Do you also know people who have that cheap AK clone sitting in a closet gathering dust? What could happen to these guys if they are caught...they are not criminals or thugs...just everyday joe blow that got a cheap AK from a friend or a friend in nevada a long time ago and moved to CA...they didnt realize it was a big deal...any advice?

-hanko
09-07-2005, 1:34 PM
Originally posted by XD Dude: